About Me

Well I guess I should tell you a little about myself, not my diagnosis but about ME!  I am 41 years old.  I have a husband, Patrick and 2 children, Ethan 14 and Naomi 8.  Our family includes a dog we adore, Bella AKA Pupup.  I am a fun and loving person who is up for any adventure!  I love movies and reading and walking my dog.  Spending time with friends and family are a top priority in my life.  I have recently found a passion in exercise with an amazing trainer, Tash, who is basically saving my sanity!  Who needs therapy, work out!  My sister Tina is my rock and am happy to have her in my life, she is the one that suggested I start a blog. My best friend Cindy is like a sister and we have been friends for so long I cant imagine my life without her in it. My incredible husband is a truly talented bass player with a crazy sense of humor and works hard everyday not only at his job but with putting up with my crazy ass.  My kids are totally amazing, I know all moms say it but whatever, mine really are! My friends are the BEST, again I don’t care if you think yours are better. I used to have a job I really loved and worked for 10 years with the same company.  I was a laboratory technician and damn good at it, but that was another story…  My new one is full of adventure and love!  I hope to inspire and support and maybe help anyone that is going through the same journey as I am, if anyone reads this I do hope it is a least enjoyable! 😉

 

Now, about my diagnosis….dum dum duuummmm

Advanced Metastatic Breast Cancer- mets to lymph system and 5 places in my bones, I was one of the lucky 6% of woman diagnosed this way.

Now for the yucky “statistics”, I have a 20% chance of living past five years, now 2.3 years into it.

Now for some good!  Even though I was diagnosed stage 4, it was too late to do a mastectomy, so I got to keep my boobies, yay!

It has been an insane life full of ups and downs since my diagnosis.  I have had many adventures and found so much love and support I never knew existed, as much as cancer has taken, it has also given so much.

As we slowly start to put the pieces back, we might find we are missing a few and some may not fit quite right but we find new pieces as well as a few old ones and can repair with time and patience .

 

 

11 thoughts on “About Me

  1. I just don,t know where you ladies get the courage from. You in particular have had a very rough time of it and my heart goes out to you, your hasband,your children, yes even your dog whom you care about very much. Please just know that my family and I are praying for you. I had a Granny in Scotland who used to tell me that if you let Jesus take your hand he can walk with you through any pain or problems and in the end you,ll walk away cured and pain free. I hope this might work for you. Please take care and God bless you and all your family. Ian

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is Trainer Tash 🙂 Krista…you are a powerfully strong force to be reckoned with and together we are going to beat this cancer to a pulp and drive it into the ground! Love ya girl!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know how you found my little blog (in the works) but I am so glad you did. I love what you’ve written about yourself and your diagnosis. My non-cancer friends look at me like I’m crazy when I tell them that cancer has given me so much. I hug everyone I meet now. I sing in the grocery store. And I dance a lot more! Fuck it, this is life! I’ll be following your journey for sure. Enjoy every minute mama!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

