Exercise

OK so let me tell you, before my cancer started affecting my life (I struggled for 3 years before it was found, but that’s another story I already rambled on about), I was thick and juicy but pretty healthy. Before the dx, I started to gain weight, I had no energy and was in pain ALL THE TIME! I would take a crap ton of advil a day. After my dx, the meds they put me on and the menopause really socked it to me.  I have gained 40lbs in the last 2 years. I was told I could not exercise as the bone tumors made me prone to fractures and breaks.  I have 2 in my spine, 1 in my rib, 1 in my femur and 1 in my hip.  Aside from the rib, breaking or fracturing any of these bones would end with an unpleasant result, to say the least. My Dr. Chang, lovely Dr. Chang does not seem to care about my weight gain. Every new med he would say “You’re not going to like this but it will cause weight gain!” (I think he gets a kick out of giving me that news) I remember in the beginning, trying to find silver linings about my disease and thought “Oh,  I guess I am going to lose some weight, all cancer people are skinny! YES!” Alas, this is not true. Leave it to me to get the fat cancer!!! I just can’t catch a fucking break!

Also, living with daily pain, sucks! I’m tired, so very tired. Example: mowing the lawn=increased pain and feeling drained and more pain medication. So not fair!! The reality:  treatments will never stop & chemo will be a part of my life until my life ends. (man, that sounds bleak lol)

Anyhoo, on with the story! Where was I, tired, sore and fat OK! So, I suck at exercise!

Introducing my salvation, Natasha van der Wÿst!!!  *insert trumpets

She kicks my ass!! and I love her for it! xo girl!!! I can not explain properly how much she has changed my world!  She is healing with her touch, motivating with her words and inspiring with her spirit! She is so creative and makes every torture session AMAZING! I have now been working with Tash for a month and a half. I have lost inches and pounds WOOHOO!!! But let me tell you what I have gained. A purpose! A friend! Sleep has increased. (it’s a cancer thing, getting any is a gift! lol). Feeling more positive about myself and just the day! Stronger! More prepared for the future days ahead. The workouts are stress relieving, focused and self motivating! I think I may have said it before: don’t get a therapist, get a trainer!

Tash’s knowledge and commitment are remarkable!

When we started, it was quickly discovered how out of shape I was. I mean a sweaty moaning mess!!! I was exhausted 3 minutes on the elliptical for crying out loud! I had no strength in my arms, baby arms really, no wonder I could not whisk an egg or give a proper hand job without tiring and changing hands constantly!! With hard work and determination (a few tears and sore muscles) and Tash’s never ending encouragement we launch an attack on my fat and my cancer 3 days a week and are seeing progress! I can now go 20 mins. on that elliptical and my baby arms are growing stronger everyday!!

She has taught me so much about diet. Protein sources matter people! Water Kefir and Kombucha. Bread that is not bread HOLLA! Seriously, check it out, white bean grape skin bread, gluten free 2 pieces 70 calories, 6 grams of carbs and 3 grams of fat (I know I just blew your mind because mine was blown too), go get some! Quest bars, organic foods, wheat grass and barley grass. We have to nourish our bodies, not poison them! I can’t stress enough how important diet is for everyone but especially for people battling a disease. Preachy right but seriously, it can change your world too. Amen!  (now I want a cheeseburger Christ’s sake!!!)

It is said and printed in almost every article, blog, book etc. how important exercise is. Hey I get it. Feeling like shit, sick and tired, someday’s it is hard to make yourself a simple cup of tea let alone get up and get out to exercise. It gets easier my friends, the more you do it, like anything the first step is the hardest! You will feel better! SO take in a deep breath and GET UP! GET OUT! FEEL BETTER! You are strong and deserve to feel your best, that is when we are unstoppable!!!!

I love you Tash, my trainer, my friend, my savior!!!!!

 

5 thoughts on “Exercise

  1. I have been following your blog posts! You are amazing, and SO inspiring! ❤
    (This is Tash's sister by the way!)
    Can you believe I had to grow up with that girl and all her energy??!! LOL!
    She really is just the sweetest and most caring person in the world, isn't she?
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No words. Actually…I have many 😉 I was somewhat left speechless initially after reading your post, but now I’ve collected myself & my thoughts. How to describe how much YOU have been an inspiration to me with your amazing prowess and pure grit as you attack every challenge thrown at you, be it exercise, nutrition, or this damn cancer. Krista I believe and know with every cell of my being that you my dear will indeed live a long healthy life and watch your kids grow old with your loving Pat by your side…making fart jokes haha. In all seriousness though, when you focus your intentions and your thoughts and your meditations to the long beautiful life you WILL have, you gain back your strength and heal your body. We’ll work on that one together…now our training sessions will become a fusion of sorts…I coin it, Medi-Training!! Meditation meets personal training with Tash! yay!
    Get ready to obliterate your fat and your cancer! There is no room in this whole universe for even one more negative thought from you, you hear me Girl!!
    Start living a life of brilliance. Eat nourishing immune & gut boosting energizing alive food. Train your muscles and heart and mind with exercise that fuels your entire being and spirit with abundant strength and vigour resilience. Engage your thoughts with the magnificence that is your own higher power waiting to be triggered and unleashed through meditation and thoughtful focused intention.
    A brilliant woman you are right now, but there is so much inside you ready to emerge. Loving this journey with you as your friend and trainer, coaching you is so very rewarding and I thank you from the bottom of my soul for your appreciation of this gift we share, the gift of our fight for your life. We battle together until you win, and you will.
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
    Tash

    Like

Leave a Reply

