The other side of the clouds

Something I have learned- the sun always shines on the other side of the clouds. It can be cloudy, raining, foggy, hailing, whatever, but as you rise and break through those clouds it is always shiny and bright.

I remember on my flight to Israel, a super long one, 12 1/2 hours- about 10 hours in  riding hump, stuck in the middle, sleep deprived, my feet could not touch the floor and they and my ankles were so swollen they looked unreal (it took 2 days or so for them to return to normal). At one point I felt like a trapped rat and had to calm the savage thoughts in my mind. Dear god a person can not survive stuck like this for so long! If I didn’t move soon I was going to snap! A few tricks with long flights- learn how to work the seat, sleep and maybe incorporate a little meditation.

As I calmed down and night was turning to day, I noticed the sky getting brighter and I looked out the window. As the sun began to rise above the clouds, something inside me…clicked, changed, I can’t explain. I sat frozen and totally mystified by what I was seeing. The colours. Oh, colours I have never before seen  The sun was now above the clouds. I had to catch my breath and then hold it, afraid to disturb anything in case this sight was lost. I was looking at the sun, it did not hurt or burn my eyes. It was beautiful and powerful and I felt small. I also felt in that moment, privileged. I am sounding too wordy, trying to hard, I am straining to paint a picture that can not be described by me.  Totally inadequate. It was simply breathtaking.

In that moment on the plane, I understood the metaphor. I am reminded of that humbling view every time I think I can’t do, handle, think or be victorious. Sometimes things happen, and we can get caught up in the why? I think these thoughts can slow the journey to the clarity we seek. We make it harder for ourselves.

As I was writing this, I read the beginning to Naomi. I asked her what she thought. She said, “we need to notice things around us and appreciate what we are seeing.” Smart kid! I defo agreed! Then she described to me how much she loves sunsets! Then I told her there was another message, “that even when things are dark and stormy…” she finished my sentence with bright eyes and”…it is shiny on the other side!” We high-fived and hugged each other.

This awakening, gives me comfort and hope that the other side is as beautiful as the glimpse I was so fortunate to witness.

3 thoughts on “The other side of the clouds

Leave a Reply

